Sohag University

Sohag University has a general strategic aim of qualifying its students for the national and regional labor market.It also aims at preparing a generation of distinguished scientists and scholars.The history of Sohag University began with the inauguration of faculty of education in 1971.Then came the faculty of science, the faculty of arts, and faculty of medicine.At this time Sohag University was a branch of Assuit University.

When South Valley University was established in 1995 Sohag University became a branch of the new University.In 1992, Faculty of Medicine was established.In 1996 faculty of Agriculture was established.Shortly after, President Mohamed Hosni Mubarak’s decree (No.129/ 2006) recognized Sohag University as an independent institution.Faculties of Industrial Education and Nursing were added to the university.Finally, in2008, a presidential decree of establishing Faculties of Engineering and Veterinary Medicine was issued, raising the number to ten faculties and gradually the number of faculties became 15 faculties.

The faculty was established in 1991.The faculty comprises 31 departments, ten of them are specialized for the essential medical sciences and 21 departments for the clinical sciences.The study at the faculty is six years and one training year for the resident doctors.14 grades were graduated.The faculty grants the diploma in 17 programs.The faculty grants the master degree in 21 programs.The faculty grants the PHD in 21 programs.The staff members are 220 and 239 staff members’ assistants.

The faculty comprises four buildings in addition to the university hospitals

  • The administrative building
  • The academic building
  • The academic classes building
  • Part of the services building

Address – Sohag, Sohag Governorate, Egypt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *